the first step is always the toughest

“Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!”

That’s what greeted me when I turned on this hastily set-up blog.

The problem is that I’m going into this a bit half-baked.  I don’t really want to give away too much info about myself on the Internets, and yet I want a photoblog to get some exposure beyond Flickr, so I guess I’ll start with posting a pic and talking about it.

Great blue heron (Ardea herodias) in Constitution Gardens

Great blue heron (Ardea herodias) in Constitution Gardens

My first love in photography is wildlife, specifically birds.  The DC area is home to many, many species of avian life, but many go unnoticed by most people.  I was surprised by how many different kinds of birds visit Constitution Gardens, which was once the scene of a bizarre standoff between police and a guy in a tractor.  I guess I shouldn’t be, considering the small park on the Mall has all the elements necessary for a thriving ecosystem in the middle of a major city — water, food, sheltered places to raise young, etc. 

I challenge you to go to a spot during your lunch break and just sit, and watch the world go about its business.  You’d be surprised at what you may see, even in a short moment.

~ by philliefan on October 22, 2008.

5 Responses to “the first step is always the toughest”

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging! I’ll look forward to reading your posts.

  2. we’ll see if I stick with it. 😉

  3. I found the license plate from that tractor when we cleaned out the pond. I gave it to my boss who had been in charge of the NPS Monuments and Memorial Parks during the whole event.

  4. Wow, really? That’s awesome! Too bad you couldn’t keep it. 😉

  5. I almost did but once I showed it to him I couldn’t bring myself to ask for it back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
